God save the USA

25 Mar

 

GOD SAVE THE USA

by Waldo Tomosky on Thursday, August 11, 2011 at 4:35pm

I just saw an empty man,,

Make an empty speech,

He once said “Yes we can”,

But now he does beseech,

The congressmen and women,

On both sides of the isle,

“Please won’t you come together?”

“So I can save my style?”

“I’ve tried to be ambiguous”,

“I have not made a decision”,

He sold out the Dems in congress,

With sureness and precision.

He made them do the dirty work,

While he smiled and winked at all,

Nancy beguiled by a quirky smirk,

Harry wooed by a Whitehouse call.

Boehner wept with ego and pride,

As the tea party leaders and goats,

Marched, sang and chanted outside,

And Bernanke printed C-notes,

While Gerstner re-figured his taxes,

The Pres took another vacation,

And the Repubs sharpened their axes,

The Hoi Polloi voiced consternation,

“Screw them all, We’ve had enough”,

“I think anarchy may have a point”,

“Let’s all get edgy, smarmy and tough”,

Then they collectively lit up a joint,

And they sadly said “Goodby my lovely USA”,

I’m moving to China or Kazakstan,

Where unions don’t demand high pay,

I’ll have a job and act like a man,

“God save the USA.”

    • © Copyright – Waldo Tomosky

5 Responses to “God save the USA”

  1. Waldo "Wally" Tomosky December 5, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    Reblogged this on waldotomosky and commented:

    There is not much I can do to change what is going on in Washington but here is my part. Please understand what is happening to us. IT IS SERIOUS!

    • Purnimodo December 5, 2012 at 3:58 am #

      The other day I was talking with a friend and at some point he said ‘Obama is going to commit suicide!’.. I don’t know if this true but those four years did him no good. Heavy is the head that wears a crown but at the same time it’s really worrying to think of to where things might spin to..

      As long as people raise their voices. There is hope.. I think..

      • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky December 5, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

        Purnimodo, Thank you for commenting on my post. I worry deeply about how our politicians have lost sight of the people. They seem to be more concerned about who has the upper hand than what is the correct thing to do. Obama has spent so much borrowed money in the last four years and I am concerned that the Republicans are going to allow him to do it again. But he is not alone. Our Bush the younger spent a ton of money also. I am a retiree but every chance I get I try to talk up the idea that we people on Social Security and Medicare could give up 5% of each and still live comfortable. For those retirees who have no personal savings – – – let them have my 5% – – – I have no idea if they got there because of poor personal choices, or health problems, or helping their children financially – – – it makes no difference. This is where we are today and they need some help. HOWEVER: No more borrowing on the part of the US Government. Boy, what a big mouth I have. Sorry. Wally

  2. Virginia Llorca (@VirginiaLlorca) December 5, 2012 at 3:46 am #

    Beautiful photo. Love “isle”. I am so glad you are utilizing your amazing mind.

    • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky December 5, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      Thanks for the nice comments Virginia. Now I have to go see what “isle” you are speaking of. And it made me happy to see that you re-posted the two political items on Facebook. That was very nice of you. My mind is hardly amazing. I am glad it still works when I get up in the morning. I take it in for a lube and oil change every thousand hours or 300 mixed drinks; whichever occurs first. Take care. Wally

Leave a Reply

