GYPSY MUSIC FROM EVERYLAND (3. Spanish)

7 Mar

Although the Gypsy language, Romani, in Spain is not longer spoken; the Romani is an Indian dialect mixed with Hindi, Gujarati, and Punjabi.

12 Responses to “GYPSY MUSIC FROM EVERYLAND (3. Spanish)”

  1. Purnimodo March 7, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    Ah Latcho Drom is a wonderful movie. Love La Caita, she has such a raw and beautiful voice. Thanks for the share!

    • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky March 7, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

      Purnimodo, I had no idea that I picked this up from part of a movie. Thank you for making me aware of that. I just ordered a DVD copy of it and can not wait to watch the whole thing. I hope there are English subtitles because my “Romani” is a little rusty these days.

      • Purnimodo March 7, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

        The movie is also on Youtube 😉 It’s not a spoken movie but a series of songs that portray the migration of gypsies in various of languages. The director Tony Gatlif is also famous for Vengo, Swing and Gadjo Dilo.

        So cool that you know how to speak/understand Romani!

      • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky March 7, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

        No – – – I was just kidding about the Romani.

      • Purnimodo March 7, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

        Ahw well.. I still think you’re cool! 😉

      • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky March 7, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

        I will reply in NewYorkEse; Dat’s a good ting, kid. Now I’se gotta go. Seeyalater!

  2. cindy knoke March 7, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    So glad you are doing this. The gypsies (and my great grandmother was one) have and continue to be the most downtrodden people in Europe. They need all the positive attention they can get. Kudos to you~

    • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky March 7, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

      Thank you Cindy. I am having fun learning about all the variations of Gypsydom. Glad you are enjoying it. Gypsys used to camp near my folks home in Johnson City, NY. They would ask my mother if they could have water from our outside tap. Of course, my mother being a saint of a person, would not only say yes but also make sure they did not feel uncomfortable in asking. They always treated her with returned respect.

  3. Waldo "Wally" Tomosky May 7, 2014 at 11:58 am #

    Reblogged this on waldotomosky and commented:

    Day Three

  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap May 7, 2014 at 3:00 pm #

    The music is captivating. Although I didn’t understand the words I felt sorrow for all the bricks covering up the building and wondered about the story behind that. I loved Cindy’s comment about the gypsies and agree with attention to them. I have a close friend from such a family.

    • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky May 7, 2014 at 5:29 pm #

      This is only one section of a film documentary of the gypsy people. I believe this scene tells the story of the attempted abolishment of gypsy culture by keeping them out of housing. The man sings his anguish but the boy continues the tradition of living by fireside and moving on.

      Here is a connection to the whole movie.

Leave a Reply

