GYPSY MUSIC FROM EVERYLAND (10. Bulgarian)

14 Mar

“Gypsy” may be considered an offensive term by some. The Race is Roma; the language Romani. Most people think Roma means they came from Rome; however, it has been said they came from India. That is as far I could determine. I do not know if that is their origin or where they may have come from before that.

5 Responses to “GYPSY MUSIC FROM EVERYLAND (10. Bulgarian)”

  1. cindy knoke March 28, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Romania??? My great grandmother was Roma~

  2. Waldo "Wally" Tomosky May 16, 2014 at 1:54 am #

    Reblogged this on waldotomosky and commented:

    Day Ten

    • virginiallorca May 16, 2014 at 2:10 am #

      Did I erase my attempt? If a dupe, sorry.

      I just bought my daughter a book, The Diddakoi by Rumer Godden. A diddakoi was a child of an Irish person and a gypsy and thought to be “fae” or prescient, usually with good reason. My mom’s mother was Irish and her father Hungarian, so she thought she qualified. I always thought it was a part of family folklore, but when presented with the book, my daughter said she does not remember hearing about it.

      I always thought Roma was Romanian. That is kind of how they look.

      There are Irish gypsies called “travelers” that are supposed to be thieves of a type, although I understand they do handyman types of repair to get by.

      Blah. Blah. Blah. Here I am again.

      • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky May 16, 2014 at 2:53 am #

        Hi Virginia,
        When I was a young boy (world war II era) we had gypsies that, when travelling, would stay beneath a railroad bridge by our home. They would come and knock on the door to ask my mother for buckets of water. She would let them help themselves to the tap on the side of the house. They were very appreciative and never caused any alarm to our family.
        Today’s gypsies come, generally, from Ohio. They typically ask for work and complete it in a very shoddy and sometimes criminal manner.

Leave a Reply

