RULE OF TRANSPOSED NINES

14 Apr

Now here is something that I had never heard of before but apparently the CPAs have.

Here was my delema.  When I went to balance my checkbook I was off $630. Now it was in my favor so I was pleased (FOR JUST ABOUT 20 NANOSECONDS). 

So I went over my figures again – – – and again – – – and again – – – and again.

Two hours later I said “well, tomorrow is another day and I will probably find it immediately.

Tomorrow was another day and another two hours with a headache. I was flummoxed.

So I accepted my fate and went to see my local branch bank manager. And he said; “Probably a transposition – – – rule of nines you know.”

I looked at him dumbfoundedly and blurted “what the heck is that? Can you explain?”

So he said “The error is divisable by nines so you probably made a transposition error somewhere.”

Then he took 20 seconds and banged out the numbers I had calculated for outstanding checks and deposits not in the bank statement.

He informed me “Nope, your numbers are correct. What you have in your checkbook is what you have in the bank.” He then tore the paper with those figures off his roll in his calculater and sent me on my way.

So I went home thinking about it. “Yes, $630 is exactly divisible by nine.”

When I got home I looked at my figures and there it was; I had transposed two numbers in my total of outstanding checks and subtracted it from the bank balance.

So the reason for this post is simple. If you can’t balance you checkbook and can’t find a simple addition or subtraction error then it is probably a transposition error. Who knew?

For example;   540-320=220   but 540-230=310   

Now 310-220= 90 (The amount in error is evenly divisible by 9) 

WOW! Gadzooks and all that stuff.

Now I should have known where the problem was because I often transpose two numbers. The worst case was years ago when I was reverse engineering some microprocessor code. Can you imagine finding THIS error in the middle of four lines of similar garbage?

f3d4dead48af341b

f3d4dead48a3f41b

Well, that was my punishment for attempting a reverse engineering feat.

4 Responses to “RULE OF TRANSPOSED NINES”

  1. cindy knoke April 14, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

    Is this math? Is this like a test? Why don’t I understand this?????????????????

    • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky April 14, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      The CPA in your house can explain it better than I did. But if he refuses then I will give it another go. Thanks for letter me torture you. (I really thought I was being helpful – – – but – – – well, that’s me, always out in left field.)

  2. Purnimodo May 15, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    Sounds like the kaprekar sequence. It’s some strange characteristic numbers have in relation to 9.

    if you take 28 for example and your reverse the digit you get 82 – 28 = 54 which can be divided by 9. It doesn’t work for all numbers though.

Leave a Reply

