Tocqueville and me; Regarding the university

13 May

≈≈≈≈≈

 

 

 

Tocqueville on the University

 

 

 

“When I think of the passions of men of our day,

 

the extent of their enlightenment,

 

their laborious and steady habits,

 

the mildness of their morality,

 

the purity of their religion,

 

the restraint that almost all

 

the softness of their mores,

 

preserved in vice

 

as in virtue.”

 

 

 

“I do not fear that in their chiefs they will find tyrants, but rather schoolmasters. …”

 

 

 

 

 

According to me

 

 

 

“Pop art, pop religion, egalitarianism;

 

all that is incorporated in

 

popular culture and

 

today’s mass media

 

leads to following;

 

steadfastly

 

following,

 

blindly

 

following.”

 

 

 

“The constitution is being redacted by the university.”

 

 

 

 

 

≈≈≈≈≈

 

 

 ©w tomosky

<≈≈≈≈≈>

7 Responses to “Tocqueville and me; Regarding the university”

  1. Purnimodo May 15, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

    It is a tragedy… that education systems teach you not to educate yourself.

    • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky May 16, 2013 at 11:14 am #

      It is even worse that the teach untruths and modify history.

      • Purnimodo May 16, 2013 at 11:20 am #

        yes. it always amazes me how different history books can be when you go abroad. I’m Surinamese and it has been a Dutch colony for quite some time. From what I understood is that slaves that were send to Surinam as a punishment would rather commit suicide.

        Now growing up in Holland.. there was no mention at all of the history (and the darker sides) between the Netherlands and Suriname.

        I won’t call it indoctrination.. but I’m not sure what to call it otherwise.

      • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky May 16, 2013 at 11:36 am #

        Yes. It appears that the colonization period is the most subject to re-modification.

      • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky May 17, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

        Purnimodo; So tell me, if you wish to, how did your family end up back in Holland? Did your family have deep roots there? You appear to have opportunities. Tell me something about yourself. Thanks, Wally

  2. Purnimodo May 18, 2013 at 2:32 am #

    Ah you can ask me anything Wally. In 1975 Suriname became independent from Holland. My father was studying around that time in Holland (exchange project between two universities) and my mother joined him some years later.

    I don’t think we have deep roots in Holland. There are some links and like with many former colonized nations.. you can never be entirely sure. Most of my father’s side are married to Dutch people and my mother’s side of the family has had strong ties with a certain Dutch family. Before Suriname – In 1865 my great-great grandparents left from India (as teens) to Suriname and before that my family had re-located many times within India.

    Not sure what you mean with that I appear to have opportunities here. As in career wise, education etc it was indeed very fortunate to be born here. Though I identify with all three continents. When I am tired of one culture I can always switch to another. 😉

    • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky May 18, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

      What wonderful experiences you must have had and also have opportunities to take in the future. Thank you for describing your connections to the various continents. Take care. Wally

Leave a Reply

