DEVIL

4 Oct

Devil vs God

(the anti-bukowski “bluebird”)

 

there’s a devil in my heart that

wants to get out

and I’m not too tough on him,

I say, don’t stay in there, I’m not going

to keep you hidden

in there.

 

there’s a devil in my heart that

wants to get out

and I pour prayers on him

partake of communion

but the whores and the bartenders

and the adult book store clerks

know that

he’s

in there.

 

there’s a devil in my heart that

wants to get out

and I’m not too tough on him,

I say,

c’mon up, do you want to mess

up my reputation?

you want to screw up the

works?

you want to blow my blog posts in

Europe?

 

there’s a devil in my heart that

wants to get out

but I’m too clever, I only let him out

at night sometimes

under the cover of darkness.

I say, I know that you’re there,

so don’t be sad

in the light of day.

 

then I put him back,

but he’s scratching his pitchfork

a little in there,

I haven’t quite let him

sharpen his pitchfork on

my heart

and we sit together like

that

with our

secret pact

and it’s nice enough to

make a man

smirk, but I don’t

smirk, do

you?

8 Responses to “DEVIL”

  1. virginiallorca October 5, 2013 at 2:05 am #

    Nothing to smirk about. That pitchfork can hurt. So I choose to walk hand in hand with my devil.

  2. cindy knoke October 5, 2013 at 3:26 am #

    I’m not smirking…….

  3. Waldo "Wally" Tomosky October 30, 2013 at 2:33 am #

    Reblogged this on waldotomosky.

  4. easyweimaraner October 30, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    that was great! Maybe you can beat that devil the same way like the bluebird? with Whiskey and smoke?

    • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky October 30, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      Oh no. He is used to whiskey and smoke. Prayers and holy communion are the only things that keep him down there. I loved Bukowski’s poem so much that I had to give a contrary viewpoint.

      • easyweimaraner October 30, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

        and it was well-made. The “Bukowski-ism” was mom’s religion as she was a teen – and the reason for a family-war :o)

Leave a Reply

