MEMORIAL DAY FOR THOSE WHO SUFFERED

8 Mar

waldotomosky

My thanks to Stephanie Lane who posted one of the clearest messages on what it means for others to suffer in our name. Thank you, once again, Stephanie for the inspiration to add some of my own feeling. Please visit Stephanie’s post linked below. The following photo is from her post.

http://stephanielane2012.wordpress.com/2012/05/24/in-memory-andersonville-ga/ 

A MEMORIAL

It was two full days before Memorial Day,

“Decoration Day” as we children would say,

It was necessary that I check my old folk’s grave,

Clean up the stone, trim grass and stay brave.

 

And when I was through I looked far around,

There were many stories that lay in the ground,

I can’t tell you, personally, that I knew them true,

But I have some time to tell you about a few.

 

There is Richard, “Died in nineteen-forty three,”

The memorial words say he had been “Lost at Sea,”

And there is Jason…

View original post 355 more words

Leave a Reply

