Phenology in the Fall

11 Oct

 

Phenology is the study of the seasonal timing of life cycle events.

And fall is considered a seasonal timing of life cycle events.

Or so says the lady who claims “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.” That sure sounds like a possible life cycle event.

Speaking of advertisements and ‘events’; how about those drug sales pitches on TV where they say a ‘death event could occur’ if you use their product?

Now, if they had said “You stand a chance of croaking if you use our product’ I am sure people’s ears would stand up.

But there I go again – – – drifting all over the place.

FALL – – – isn’t it a beautiful thing? Makes the heart go pitty-pat and all that.

But the subject line at the top says that phenology is a ‘study.’ So let’s study, by gummy!

First of all I wish to share with you something I observed just this past week. (We don’t teach or tell in blog-land – – – we just ‘share’) .

I have a flock of ‘local’ geese in our area. By local I mean they stay in one spot from spring until fall. You will know their location by all that green stuff stuck on the bottom of your sneakers (shoes, waders, open toe’d hip boots, crocs, [or bedroom slippers if you have just escaped from ‘the home.’]). How do you like my use of all those parenthesis and braces? Pretty educated guy, huh?

I should have said a ‘gaggle’ of geese because Wikipoopia informed me that ‘A gaggle is a term of venery for a flock of geese that is not in flight’. I could sure agree that if a whole flock of geese had a venereal problem they would not be in flight.

Now if they were flying around a flock would be called a skein.

I wonder how many skeins of yarn it would take to make a skein of geese? By the way, you may wish to keep the following fact in mind – – – just in case somebody asks. A gaggle is greater than or equal to five geese. Wikipoopia also says that a gaggle is also equal to eight fifty-pound bags of salt. I wish they could keep their equivalents in order; is it skeins of yarn or bags of salt that they are saying is equal to a flock of geese?

I drifted again. Sorry.

Where was I? Oh yes. I saw a gaggle of local geese lazying around a local pond and didn’t think to much of it other than having to take the garden hose to my sneakers.

After cleaning my footwear I sat down under the patio and was observing the humming birds. There had not been as many coming around as a week ago. Then I noticed that they were all heading towards the gaggle pond.

So I walked back to the pond, being careful not to step where I had just walked after leaving the pond (the trail was rather obvious). When I got to the pond I saw all those humming birds landing on the backs of the geese. Once all the geese were satisfied that no more humming birds were coming they took off and started their migration southward.

I always wondered how those little hummers got down south.

Continuing on with my ‘Fall Phenology’ I must point out two things.

Needles and Leaves

 

Please be careful not to confuse a larch tree with an evergreen. It is quite easy to do. In the fall the needles fall off of larch trees. I once had an old larch tree at an old house I purchased. The needles fell off, I figured it was dead, and bbbbbbbbbzzzzzzzzz – – – I took my chain saw to it.

Oh yes – – – I forgot to tell you – – – there were a few monarch butterflies that also hitchhiked a ride on the geese. The humming birds looked pretty PO’ed. They must have figured that they didn’t have to share first class.

Back to Phrenology Phenology. Boy, I almost screwed that one up. Phrenology (from Greek φρήν (phrēn), meaning “mind”, and λόγος (logos), meaning “knowledge”) is a pseudoscience primarily focused on measurements of the human skull. WhoopiePedia helped me out with this one also; just in case you didn’t notice.

Phrenology Skull

By the way; Phonology is a branch of linguistics concerned with the systematic organization of sounds in languages. Its not about all the phonies in congress.

Glad we got that all cleared up. I hope the geese also got their venereal problem all cleared up.

I wish I could tell you how the swallows got back to Capistrano, or how the robins kept bob-bob-bobbin along; but alas – – – I can not. Maybe Bing can (NO! not Bing the search engine but Bing the American singing and acting engine).

 

 

 

Birds aren’t the only creatures hinting that cold weather’s coming. I recently saw a bear crossing the road to get to the other side! No chicken that fella.

It is going to be a tough winter if bears are seen bearying around the hucklebeary bushes.

Damn! I just realized that I slept through the 2015, autumnal equinox back on September 23 at 4:21 A.M. (to be exact).

I really should close this out with some other Autumnal Phenology facts;      

Squirrels bury their nuts in the fall.

Bears scratch their initials on pine trees.

Male Deer rub their horns on saplings to rid themselves of their ‘velvet’.

Frogs become Lazarus-like. They aren’t dead. They just stop croaking.

Pumpkins are bumpkins.

Humans get flu shots (which probably don’t work).

Owls? Well, they’re just a hoot.

See ya’ when the snow flies.

(I have actually seen snow fleas but never snow flies).

Say Goodnight Wally

Goodnight Wally.

By the way, have you seen my bedroom slippers?

Author

4 Responses to “Phenology in the Fall”

  1. Waldo "Wally" Tomosky October 11, 2015 at 2:16 am #

    Reblogged this on waldotomosky.

  2. virginiallorca October 11, 2015 at 6:46 am #

    A bunch of bears is called a “sleuth”. (“Zoo” currently on Netflix.)

    • Waldo "Wally" Tomosky October 11, 2015 at 11:50 am #

      A whole bunch of bears in a sleuth,
      decided to treat their sweet-tooth,
      they chomped and the gnawed,
      on an old overly-poetic hog,
      Until he said “stop, desist, forsooth.”

      • virginiallorca October 12, 2015 at 7:17 am #

        There is no stopping you. That is good.😆💖

Leave a Reply

