OPENING DAY

29 Oct

 

opening day

 

It was ten in the evening,

on March thirty first,

my equipment uninspected,

I dreaded the worst.

 

Imagining rotted line, rusty swivels,

and old dead bait,

I knew when I hit the sack,

it would be very late.

 

It took time to feed the kids, hug them,

and put them to bed,

fix the washer, gas the car, and – – oh yes,

the dogs had to be fed.

 

Call the old folks, say hello, and – –

my neighbor wanted to talk,

find my license, cap and coat, and – –

take the wife for a walk.

 

But when that was all done, and – –

I had time for myself,

I retrieved the pole and waders,

from the top of the shelf.

 

And talk about dumb luck,

not a thing was awry,

except that the tip of the rod,

was missing an eye.

 

With a little cursing, glue, and – –

an extra rod tip,

and fine cotton line,

I completed the whip.

 

At midnight I set the clock,

to five in the morn,

and fell asleep snoring,

like an old factory horn.

 

I woke up a few times,

1:30, 2:30 and four,

and decided it was senseless,

to sleep any more.

 

A breakfast of eggs and toast,

while rattling the pan,

awakened the lady, who,

admonished her man.

 

A last check of equipment,

clothing and lunch,

was all that remained, when,

I noticed the “CRUNCH.”

 

Of automobile tires,

on new fallen snow,

oh well – – fishing was not really,

where I wanted to go.

 

snow on opening day

trout and creel with copyright

 

One Response to “OPENING DAY”

  1. Waldo "Wally" Tomosky October 29, 2015 at 11:27 am #

    Reblogged this on waldotomosky.

Leave a Reply

